top of page
Search

June 24, 2020: Piney Run State Park Devotion

Updated: Jun 24, 2020

Scripture

O Lord, you have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I rise up;

you discern my thoughts from far away. You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, O Lord, you know it completely. You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is so high that I cannot attain it.

Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there. If I take the wings of the morning and settle at the farthest limits of the sea, 10 even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me fast. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light around me become night,” 12 even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is as bright as the day, for darkness is as light to you.

Reflection

The most well-known verses in Psalm 139 are verses 13-14, which comes right after our scripture today: “For it was you who formed my inward parts; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; that I know very well.” But before these verses, is our scripture for today, which beautifully sets up these famous verses. This passage tells us that God knows us; inside and out and is with us always. There is nowhere we can go that separates us from God; we are never alone – no matter how far we wander, how deep we find ourselves in the wilderness, how dark our world feels.

As you journey on your walk today, meditate on the words of this psalm. What does it meant to you to know that God is always with you? How does it make you feel to know that God knows you so deeply and intimately? Does it bring you comfort? Does it leave you feeling uneasy?

As you take in your surroundings as you walk, give thanks to God for God’s love and faithfulness. May the creation surrounding you be a reminder of the love and care with which our God love all that God made!

Prayer

You can choose to free pray, invite others in your group to offer up prayer petitions (such as a popcorn prayer) or read the prayer written.

God who formed us, we give thanks for the ways in which you journey alongside us through our darkest wildernesses and our most joyful achievements. As we journey on our walk today, we embrace this steadfast reminder that we are never alone, and nothing can separate us from you or you from us. In the name of your Son, Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page